Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

I want to sink slowly, without geting wet...
2002-07-18

P>

Well I had to go on the road yesterday. It was a wasted trip, but it did get me out. Last night was our annual long distance race. The start is 4:30 so everybody had to be there early. So of course Bob doesn't show up at all and I get an email from Kerry that he isn't coming. Great... Lots of bodies and no talent. it is a good thing that Jim and Mush invited themselves along. If they hadn't, I'm not sure we could have played.

So I'm setting the boat up in the slip we rented the night before and just before everybody is scheduled to arrive, the guy who's slip it is, comes in and wants his slip back. Great... Everything is full, and I have to leave. Jim and Mush had just gotten there and helped me leave. There was just nothing open except the fuel dock which is supposed to be kept open. Screw it, I pulled in. I also notice that the bottom has not been cleaned. Another bad omen. So everybody shows up but Bob. I wait and wait like usual. No phone cal, no email... Finally we have to go. My crew plans are now royally screwed. It's blowing pretty good. I guess Jim and Brian on th ejib will be fine, but who do I use on the main? Everybody except Mush are green as grass and Mush weighs maybe a 100 soaking wet. The girl is tough though. She was my foredeck when we won the Nationals, and she never gives up. So... She has the job. Steve is designated as power assist guy if things get too tough for her. He doesn't have to do much all night.

We had a good, not great start, but right according to plan. It was blowing 15 to 20+ and we had the light sail up. Too much wind, but not the right people to do a reasonable sail change. We muddled through. Soon we passed everybody but the evil 42 and we were right on their butts. It stayed that way for 10 miles.

The crew and especially Mush did a wonderful job. We did tear the new headsail on a bad tack. Oops. Gotta call the sailmaker today to get that fixed. With just a 1/4 mile to go, we have this race won easy. Then evil 42 does something that may be the stupidest thing I've seen in 20 years of racing. He takes us both up head to wind (illegally) and stops us both. Now there are 20 boats behind us and we are sitting there stopped. Lots of yelling goes on and I give him my opinion of him in not too nice terms. We finally get moving, but we are a little slower off the blocks. He wins by 1 second. We finish second.

So we pop some beers and sail. It is a beautiful night and we are done way early. I let Jim drive and try to trade him my regular main guy and beer for Mush. No dice.

We return to the mooring, get everything put away and hit the club for results. Evil 42 comes over to argue. We all know he is wrong. Even a few of his crew appologize to me. At one point, I push his hat over his face. It gets really loud. I finally walk away. He comes by later to argue some more but I just give him the look and say in a very FIRM voice, "just keep walking". He does. Later his wife comes by and just ignores me. Fine. She is a pain too. Funny thing is that we were happy with the second with everything that happened. Oh well, next time it will go to a protest hearing, I promise.

We went home and ate and I got to bed by 11. Of course some strange malidy gets me up at 2:00 am lile usual. This time it was my stomach which hurt like hell for a few minutes and then retreated. Ahh the joys of stress.

At least today is pay day.

later

Previous - Next

Top