Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Don't hit our new boat...please????
2002-07-09

I should have something to say, shouldn't I? It's hot and sticky, but you already knew that. I'm bored as hell, but I'm betting you knew that too. I did send out three more resumes today, one for a design engineer, one for a QA director and a third for a production manager. That one came back as invalid email address. I checked it from my end so the paper must have gaffed it up. Somebody hire me please? Before I go mad.... Sigh...

I have rescheduled my lab rat visit to 4:00. This should give me time to get changed, pick up M.E. and get the boat in before the race. My duty on Race Commitee will be to drive the boat, set the starting line, help pick the course and call things off it it all turns to crap. I also am required to drink beer. It is race commitee protocol. Head will probably do the anchor and shoot the starting gun. He has professional ear protection for reasons unknown. M.E. will do flags, Jocelyn will do the timing and results.

The thunderboomer forecast looks to be more concrete. I hope they pass us by. Thunderstorms are very dangerous on the water. It isn't just the lightning, often there can be fierce winds or even a micro-burst that can break masts and sink boats. These are bad enough on regular race nights, but when you add in mostly inexperienced lady drivers, it can get down right ugly... For all the feminists in the crowd... before you rag on me that women can do just as good of a job as men, I agree... To a point. The best women sailors I know, the Betsey Allisons and Coutney Beckers of the world are way better than I am. Even the team Evil 40 crew aren't bad, but most of the boats tonight will be sailed by somebody's wife or girlfriend and this will be the only time they race all year. It is a game in which experince plays a major factor. Sooo.. I'll keep an eye on the weather, set a VERY long stating line and the mark end of the line will be VERY favored. Then I'll pray...

Previous - Next

Top