Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Slug, a big old slug
2002-06-27

UGH, We were awful last night. Three of my regulars were out. I was feeling out of sorts, we did crappy. It didn't start out well.

I got the last dock which happens to be the pump out dock for the toilet holding tanks. This pump out is rairly used on week nights. I get a tap on the hull... Not one but two boats need to pump out. I'm not giving up the last slip, but I have to move. So I do and spend the next twenty minutes hovering around like a mother hen guarding her chicks. I finally get back in and tie up. I prep the boat and then go and help a friend come in. The boat gts away from him. I try to make a diving save and get in a position the my dockers feel violates that laws of physics. Rrrrrip. Oops. Now I need to go home and change. Great.

I get back in planty of time and wait for crew. And wait and wait and wait. Three regulars are missing. I get stressed enough before a race, but this pushes things to a new level. I finally leave without them. And I waited too long. We zip along as fast as we can go, but still have to scramble to make the start. It is a good one. We take the early lead. We go to tack, but the people filling in on the jib don't have the timing down, we are slow. We lose ground. The boat speed is good when we get moving, but any time something fancy happens we tank some more. On the down wind leg we are just slow. Sigh... Not good. We finish second across the line, but end up 5 out of 6. Easily our worst race in several years. I know it's a new boat and I know we had new crew, but still, fifth? I was crushed. I know I'm too hard on myself, but still...

To top it all off all I had to drink all night was water. Couldn't even drown my sorrows. I went home right after the results. I'm not ever a sore loser, but between being tired and not feeling well and FIFTH, I just need to go home. So it did. I got in to find that one of the crew left an email telling me he wasn't coming. It got in after I left. Oh well....

I'm feeling a bit better today, still tired, but the stomach seems to be better and I can swallow without pain. it's pay day so that is a plus. Now all I need is a nap.

Previous - Next

Top