Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Monica and Mikes weekend
2002-06-24

Except for being tired and getting stuck in a massive traffic jam this morning, life is good. Dispite M.Es worries, we were not ax muurdered by Monica and Mike this weekend, they were very nice and we had a good time.

On Firday I finished my road trip, went grocery shopping and after M.E. came home, we went out to dinner and then headed to the club to bring the boat into the dock and load stuff up. It was a nice night and we sat on the deck with friends. M.E had TWO glasses of wine. She was a little stressed. At the designated time we headed off to the bus station to to pick up M&M. We waited and waited, the bus was late. Finally the bus from New York pull sin and everybody gets off. No M&M... Umm, now what. I go in to the station to check and they tell me that some people got dropped off downtown so I head back to the car. As I do I see M.E. on the phone. It's Monica, they are downtown. So off we head and sure enough, there they are standing on the sidewalk.

Monica is cuter in person then her pictures, but besides that she was exactly how I figured she's look. Mike was Way taller than I expected and I'm surprised he fit in the back of the Talon. Monica suspected that we'd get along and we did. I like Mike (hmm, isn't that a commercial?) So we loaded up all their stuff and headed home.

Once their I showed them thier room , popped som beers and went out on the deck. We talked till about one and then everybody crashed. For some stupid reason, M.E. and I were up way too early on Saturday. We had breakfast, packed our stuff and headed out to the Club. It was hot, too damn hot. We left arounf 10:00 with absolutely NO breeze. UGH Finally after an hour or so the breeze filled in nicely and things cooled down. Nice, except the wind was right on the nose. This meant tacking all the way to Newport. Thats OK, I wasn't in a hurry and we were having fun.

Our dog sitter bailed out so we had to bring puppy with us. He hasn't been on the boat since he was a puppy and I was a little concerned. I shouldn't have been. He was Wonderful. He had everybody who stopped by totally charmed. What a ham. He behaved perfectly and by the end of the weekend was in full charge of the boat. Just ask him :-)

We went under the Newport bridge called the Yacht Club and found our slip with no problem. I got us checked in and then we headed off to lunch at the Rhino Bar. Yummy... Then M.E and I headed off in search of boat parts and Monica and Mike headed off to see the city. They saw quite a bit I guess. Even made it to the mansions. They picked us some nice flowers for the dinner table. Sweet....

Even though Monica says she doesn't want to get serious, they make a nice couple and have all the little touches and manerisms of two people who have been together for a while. That was nice. Mon, you could do lots worse...

Then it was time for blender sports. M.E. whipped up some mean hard frozen lemonade which we sipped under the awning in the cockpit. Mike wanted to know of we would adopt them. Then people started coming by, Neil and Scary, Paul and Betsey, we had eight in all for dinner. Veggie lasagna, Italian bread and carrot cake washed down with LOTS of wine. After dinner O and his brother Paul showed uo too. We had a full cockpit. More wine, more laughs, I had a great time.

We got to bed early, like 10 ish. We were all beat. Puppy loves the aft cabin. Lots of room to sprawl out on the bed. He was soooo tired, no nap and lots of attention. I slept like a rock.

Puppy and I were the first ones up so we went for a walk. He did his thing and we both just enjoyed the morining. I came back and when people started gettng up made breakfast, hot blueberry muffins and coffee. Monica walked all the way to the cemetaries. A hike...Then we headed back.

Again we started in no wind so we motored for a while. The breeze finally filled in and we sailed the rest of the way. Most of the time puppy sat right next to me in the back. You could almost see him thinking, yeah, I could drive this thing. When boats would get to close he'd go to the rail and give him dirty looks. VERY funny..

We got back to the Club and tied up to our mooring and called the launch. Opps it was broken. The had to pick us up in this old rickety leaky work boat. We loaded all the stuff in and Puppy jumed in all buy himself. Good doggie... The driver dropped us off and we got in the car and truck and headed home. We all took showers (seperately, get you mind out of the gutter) and had lunch. Monica and Mike played pool until it was time to go. We dropped them off right on time. I hugged Monica and Shook Mikes hand and we we left. All in all a pretty good time.

We headed back to the club. I was a little beat but M.E was suppose to meet somebody there so no problem. We sat outside in the rocking chairs. Before long the two of us grew into a circle of 16. All good people... We sat there till 7:00, just talking and enjoying the view. Then we went home ate and went to bed.

The end.

Happy Monday all

Previous - Next

Top