Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Is that the North Pole?
2002-06-17

Ah, Mondays, don't you just love Mondays? Sarcasm, thy name is CaptainRon. It was an Ok weekend. Saturday it was grey cold and wet again. I did mostly nothing all day. We decided to go to Foxwoods to make a contribution to the Indians. We did too. No one came home a winner. I had an OK time though and it did kill several hours.

Sunday started with more rain, but I just knew it was going to clear up so I planned on sailing at 1:00 as usual. I needed an on the water atitude fix. M.E. thought I was crazy. "It's cold and wet, I'm not going sailing today..."

So I got ready to go without her. When she realized I was still going, she started getting ready. She never said anything though so when I was ready to leave, I asked her what her plans were and she said I was sort of hoping to come with you.. And so she did.

We got there just as the sun came out and the temperature warmed. Everybody else stayed home I guess becuse we had the boat and most of the bay to ourselves. Just beautiful... We listened to James Taylor and then some Jazz. Mellow music that seemed to fit the situation.

We went out to the island a couple of times, each sharing the driving and the sail trim. We ran into a friend sailing alone and told him to grab his wife when she got out of work and come over to the YC for a drink, and so he did. We got the cruising sail put away and tonight will go out and look at the new racing sail. Hopefully Wednesday night will be it's debut in real action. As we sat on the rocking chairs under the deck canopy, it begain to rain again. Our window of sunshine, slammed shut.

I have a stiff neck and a bit of a raspy throat this morning. it was mostly from sleeping without covers last night. The regular bedding was in the wash. The substitute blankets a little small. M.E. and puppy managed a hostile takeover. I fianlly had to get up and put some clothes on or they might have found me frozen to death in the morning. Headline: Man freezes to death in own bed. Wife and dog in custody. They would both get off.

In my attempt to stay warm, which messed up my neck, I also some how put my fingers to sleep so when the alarm went off this morning, I couldn't shut it off. UGh. I also managed to come to work without my wallet. I have 90 cents on which to survive the day. I guess it is true what they say about people who freeze. The brain stops working first. I hope the rest of the day improves. At least I'm warm now.

Previous - Next

Top