Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Dead barreties and gas, not a personal problem
2002-06-11

Hi Diary,

I feel pretty good today dispite the fact that I didn't want to get up this morning. Last night was kind of hectic and then relaxing. I had to dash out from work to pick up M.E. at work since her car was dead. Then we went straight home to take out her dead battery (I lost one of the nuts in the engine compartment). We also pulled the empty propane cylinder from the gas grill and dashed off to BJs to get both fixed. Why were we in such a hurry... Well we were suppose to meet Neil at 5:30 to watch Scary race.

It was a beautiful night and I like driving Neils new 40.7 so off like maniacs we went, M.E to fill the propane and me to hunt and kill a battery. The traffic was light and we got there in no time. I get to the battery department and who do I run into but my old best friend since the first grade Brian. I don't get to see much of him any more. He became a family man a zillion years ago and since has become a hermit, hardly ever leaving his house. He looked old. I wonder if he thought the same of me? I miss him being around. We talked for a while and then I excused myself and tried finding the battery match. No dice... The guy in the department finds the one that is suppose to match, but it is bigger. He sort of assures me that it will fit, I'm skeptical. I head to the register to check out and run into M.E. with the gas cylinder in a carriage. A lady is running up behind her telling her she can't have the gas inside the store. She keeps walking.

I put both batteries in the carriage and try to check out. The bill is too high. I ask the guy at the register and he says I have to go to customer service to get credit for returning the old battery. WTF? So I wait in another line and they deduct $5 from my credit card, but not the tax. I argue, but the people in this store really are the most brain dead individuals on the planet. Either that or they have been programmed to play dumb. I finally give up and leave. The lady again rags on M.E. for bringing the gas into the store. M.E. just smiles. I say she is a real trouble maker. :-)

So, we get home and I put the new battery in and the alarm on the car immediately goes off taking 5 years off my hearing since I am two inches away when it happens. It does fit and I'll all set except for the missing nut. it is a weird size and I only have one that goes on about 3 threads. DO I give up, NO... I put about 15 washers on the stud and use the only nut I have. It will do for now. I connect up the gas to the grill and we head off to meet Neil. Just on time.

We were just going to motor, but Neil wants to refold his sails. First it is just the jib, but then the full main goes up. I'm driving, there is lots of wind. It is work. We finally roll up the jib and my night gets better. Watching the races is fun, Scary is doing great and the beer is cold. A nice combination. Scary wins and have had enough and bring the boat back in tie it up and decide to stop in for one. I only had one too, honest.

Dennis who everybody hates and his wife Nancy who everybody likes are celebrating their two year anniversary. The are both hammered on martinis. Neil of course buys them one more. All Dennis wants to talk about is how since she made it two years Nancys pre-nup has kicked in and she is now half owner of his million dollar + estate. We mostly could care less. Dennis is a major bull shit artist, but he did get major bucks from a malpractice case involving his former deceased wife. Nancy tells us that for the first week they were married, all he kept saying was "I can't believe I got married" in a whiney voice. Very romantic. It's kind of sad, except for the money, she could have done lots better. Money is important, but not that important.

We left soon after, ate, watched the Red Sox win and got to bed early. Todays agenda... Road trip to a furnace place and prod and poke day at the experimental drug doctors.

Wish me luck.

Ron

Previous - Next

Top