Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

I need to win the lottery
2002-06-04

Ugh, I'm tired again this morning. I wonder how many entires I've started like this. Too many I'd guess. I tried to get to sleep without the Nyquil and codine and was mostly sucessful. I was up a couple of times coughing, but nothing I couldn't handle. Then a little after 4:00 M.E.s stupid beeper goes off. A bad case, someone is in serious cardiac problems. So she rushes around like a mad woman and I pretend not to notice the noise. She had a woman die on her yesterday. That always kinds of ruins the day does it not?

Well, I got a few minutes more sleep, but had to be up early to do the doggie chores since M.E. was gone. I'm up at 5:30 any way so a few more minutes, what the hell. The yard is so peaceful at that time of the morning. We live in the woods and the only sounds were the birds and the low rumble from Rt 95 in the distance.

I had a pretty good night last night. I came home, took puppy in and gave him his required hugs, then sat down to tackle the ever increasing pile of bills. I wrote and wrote until the checkbook screamed no more. There are still bills left. Not a good combination.

Then I went down to the YC to scrub all the salt off the boat. It was a beautiful night. Warm, gentle breezes, the Monday night crews were getting ready to race. I took the launch out with a bunch of other folks and had to wait a few minutes for the wind to shift so I could get off the mooring. So I just sat there enjoying the view, the peace.

Docking a 40 foot boat by yourself is not an easy chore and when the wind is blowing away from the dock it is even more difficult. You set up the lines and bumpers and try to get as close as you can while going as slow as you can, grab one of the lines and jump. You only get one shot. The idiot rear commodore (who everybody hates) sees me coming in alone, does he offer to help? NO, thats why he is an idiot. His girlfriend appologized to me later. At least she has some class. So I'm on my own. The first try I'm too far away to jump, I need to back up and take another shot. The second try is better, I jump and make it, tie one line on, run to the front and grab the second one, and then keep adjusting the lines until I'm tied up nice and tight.

The boat is a mess, but it doesn't take me long to clean it. It is so nice out I feel like going for a cruise. I make a few phone calls. M.E. opps she is on call, damn, Neil... His phone is off as usual. Screw it, I'll fly solo, so I do. I untie the boat, pull up the bumpers and go out to watch the races.

I know a lot of the Monday night people and lots of people wave and say Hi. I went all the way out to Patience Island and back, had a nice time, and even may have scored one of my old crew guys back. I called him from the cell and he is going to try to make it Wednesday night. I can use the extra bodies.

So I watched a beautiful sunset, drank two beers and tied the boat up at the mooring. I got the racing sails ready for Wednesday night, cleaned 5 empty wine bottles from Sunday out of the refrigerator and called the launch. I stopped by the club bar to congratualate Mary on her excellent race, had one glass of wine and went home.

M.E. had been a bad girl. She had cookies and ice cream for dinner. There were lots of cookies left, so, so did I. Me and puppy watched the stupid Red Sox lose while M.E watched Moonstruck, then we went to bed.

Yawn........

Previous - Next

Top