Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Want some grass?
2002-05-06

"Tell me why, I don't like Mondays

Tell me why, I don't like Mondays

Gonna shoot the whole day down, the whole day down" Boomtown rats circa??? Too long ago...

Well it was a good weekend. I bit the bullet and bought a new lawnmower. 6 hp, 22" push job that got a Consumer Reports best buy rating. Now the lawn is freshly mowed and the neighbors no longer look on with distain. Actually Mr. professionally manacured lawn next door still has not had his grass cut yet. tsk, tsk.

I worked on the boat Saturday and finally fired up the water system, and of course there is a problem. I can't keep presure up. Johnny the Chin comes over and in exchange for a cold beer does some trouble shooting. He thinks I need to rebuild the pump. Well at 4:00 on a Saturday, I think not, but I get up early on Sunday and try to get it all down before the 1:00 sail. I have to basicly disassemble the whole left side of the main cabin to get at the pump. Then I broke a piece off that ended up in the bilge. While trying to get it out, I got a major muscle pull and ended up trapped with my right arm stuck under the floor until the pain subsided. Sigh... Boat stuff. After getting the pump out, getting the parts to rebuild it, breaking another part (another trip to the boat store (3 in total). I finally got it installed, the boat put together and myself cleaned up with 15 minutes to spare. Oh yeah, the water system still doesn't work. Time to call in a professional. Hmm, one more thing, I was using the flashlight to find the part where I almost became one with the boat. Well in all the comotion, I forgot to take it out so it is now floating somewhere between the hull and the floor. duh..

The sailing was worth it though. It was windy, exciting, the beer was VERY cold. We went the fastest the boat has gone so far, a little over 9 knots. We sailed to Bristol and back. The crew from Mr. Ugly Butt did not show, but after checking out their itinerary of parties Friday in NH, Sat in Boston, I didn't think a 3 states in 3 days roadie was likely. Next time. Bob Y was also a no show, that was a surprise. We didn't do any practice, just played. M.E. drove for a while and did pretty good when she got dialed in. Before that we zig zagged our way out of the bay pretty well. I was getting dizzy. Hey at least she tries and she will get better.

We got in fairly early and just hung out in the sun, drinking and relaxing. A nice day. We stopped in the club bar for just one and got home fairly early.

5:00 still came too soon this morning.

Previous - Next

Top