Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Figawi and a new chair
2002-04-30

Well, the day is flying by at a snails pace. I did get a new office chair which is quite comfy. I'm not special, we all got them because peoples chairs here were dropping like flies and the company was afraid that eventually be sued. Oh well...

Mr-Uglybutt is going to be in Nantucket for Figawi too, so I may actually get a chance to meet someone I read in person. That has only happened once before and one of those I knew before I started writing. We'll have the blender fired up and the tunes blaring but even so, we will be tough to spot. There will be over 300 boats there. It is a HUGE party with live bands and open bars. Hardly anyone ever gets arrested either. This is not a likely scenario on our boat anyway. We are one of the calm ones. We only had one person ever get too trashed to make it home and she was the under age daughter of a friend. Gary: Ally are you OK? Ally: Figawi!!! Barf.... Ally was also a slob and when you have 8 people ona boat slobs get tiring fast. You couldn't find a place to sit because she had little piles of stuff everywhere.

On the other hand, we had a 70 something guy somehow get added to our crew and he worked out fine. He hooked up with some local, went dancing even got lucky and spent the night in some ladies condo. Go Phil.

This years crew is mostly female. It's just how it worked out. Me Kerry and Bob Y, M.E., Bobs daughter Laura, Maria, Mary and Kris. We sleep 7 but I think the aft cabin could easily fit 3 in a pinch. If the weather is nice, we'll have the hammock up on the foredeck too. This also sleep two ;-). We've had people from other crews ask if they can sleep on the decks already. I've been non-committal except for Jim who house sits puppy on occasion. He has a spot if he needs one.

I have my oven back with the new boat and a microwave too. I plan to cook up a storm. Prime Rib and Lasagna are on the menu, among other things.

The forecast is for 5 to 10 know winds tonight, but maybe rain. That is perfect wind to try out the new sail, but it is going to be cold and wet. Oh well.

Previous - Next

Top