Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Newport, (Part deux)
2002-04-29

Well, the rest of the weekend was pretty normal. We wandered through Newport, did some shopping (M.E. not me) had lunch and sat at the bar enjoying the view over the mostly empty harbor. We gat a table right by the window. Nice, it was sunny and warm and breezy.

People started showing up, Ken and Joyce, Jimmy and his new girlfriend. O.showed up too. We had several drinks. Ken and Joyce had not eaten, so we walked the length of Newport to go to this place they wanted to eat at. Well, M.E. and I walked, they kind of staggered some. See, Ken was drinking scotch rocks and Joyce gets plowed on two wines and she had at least 4. It was kind of funny. The food was over priced and just OK. We managed to get the dynamic duo back to the boat where they promptly fell asleep. I had a beer and M.E a soda and we waited for them to wake up. When they woke up we asked them if they wanted to stay, but they drove home. I didn't see them on the news so I guess it worked out OK.

Saturday was nice, I slept late for a change. My aft cabin is Soooo comfy. I slept like a rock. We got cleaned up and decided to go walking. It was a beautiful day for it. We wandered all the little side streets and poked into interesting shops. We bought puppy a peanutbutter flavored doggie bone cookie (which he ate in two seconds, pig!). M.E. got a nice Newport shirt. We had lunch at Rhino (very good). Took a nap and hit the bar again. There were quite a few people there and we made a few new friends. Went out for dinner, again, just OK and the cell phone rings, it is Neil and Mary. They are at the YC, O is there too. So we head back, eat some birthday cake washed down with Pino stay up way too late and crash.

Yesterday I'm up early. We have to sail home. The forecast is for awful weather, high winds, heavy rain, low visability. At 7:00 am, none of that is going on, it is calm, visability is good, and it is just drizzling. M.E. hears me rattling about and asks me about the weather. I tell her. She thinks we should bail now. OK, that makes it full agreement. We were packed and off the dock in less than a half hour. The ride home was wet, cold and uneventful. Puppy was happy to see us. He always is :-) All in all a pretty nice birthday weekend... And I don't even feel too old this morning.

Previous - Next

Top