Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

New job interview update
2002-04-25

Driving through downtown Providence in the throes of rush hour last night in the rolling death trap was not fun. Twice I had to reclose the door while rolling along at the speed limit or better. Not good. This is the last day, I swear. I told the guy my truck was to be back today, fixed or not. He is supposed to drop it off this afternoon. He'd better.....

The interviews yesterday went exceptionally well. I parked the death-trap well away from the door so no one would see it, put on a tie and wowed them. You could tell. I met with the tooling manager and the QA manager. By the end of both interviews, they were talking like I was already hired. The QA guy said he was there to play devils advocate. After a few tips on how to fix some problems he has been having, he wanted to be my new best friend. I know how to play the interview game and I'm good at what I do for a living. I've had bad interviews. This was not one of them. This job works to all of my strenghts. It looks pretty interesting too. We were supposed to meet with HR (to make me an offer?) but the interviews lasted so long that they had left for the day. Oh well, even if I get exactly what I want I'm going to wait a bit before giving them and answer. That is the way the game is played.

So far all the people I've talked too have a good opinion of the company, all the people I've met with have been pleasent and knowledgeable. The potentailly new job looks to be a lot more active so lots less time on the computer. So it goes. I'll still try to keep this diary updated. I don't know if it helps any, but i guess it couldn't hurt right? I'm already talking like I've decided huh? Well if the offer is decent and the vacation time reasonable I guess I already have. Of course I could be totally wrong and they might end up hiring somebody else. That just isn't my read at this point. I have been wrong in the past though so we'll see.

Today is my Friday. No work tomorrow as we sail off to Newport. I do like this policy of having ones birthday off. Especially since mine is in April. February would be more of a drag, but you know, I'd still take it.

Previous - Next

Top