Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

We finished third
2002-04-24

Well I made it in to work driving the deathtrap again today. Hopefully this will be the last day. I do not trust my luck lately.. Besides the three blown speakers and 4 am station selections are really starting to irritate me. Not the way to start your day.

Well, we had out first race last night. I was nervous until it started, then had fun. it was a small class, always is the first night. It will pick up as the series (best 3 of 4) goes on. Lots of boats just aren't in yet. We only finished 3rd, about 8 seconds behind second and anout 15 seconds out of first. Not bad for a first effort with an old piece of crap headsail.

We sort of gave it away too. The game plan all night was to be conservative and let everybody, including me learn the boat. We mostly stuck to that plan. We could have caused mayhem at the start, pushed up the whole pack, but I let it slide. There will be time for that later when the stakes are higher and the team is working better. We also could have stuffed our biggest competitor Panama Red out at the last turning mark, I was pretty sure I could have pulled it off, but if we missed, ouch. Again, we'll keep that in our back pocket. Our boat speed was equal or better all night. Wait till the new sail comes. The Panama crew has to be sweating. In their conditions and we are equal or better than them in speed all night in our first race. We will only improve. They have to know that.

Could be an interesting year. I heard after the race that they hit the commitee boat and put a couple of MAJOR scratches in their boat. Not cool. Maybe that was why they were so quiet after the race. Either that or they know they are going to spend a lot of time watching our stern (again).

We broke a few things so I have to call the rigging shop today. More $$$$$ I also have my interview today after work. Then down to the boat and clean up the carnage from yesterday. After a race things always look like we got hit by a tornado. I got some of it done last night, but it is tough to work with a wine glass in your hand. Neil was a major help last night and I like having him on board. Too bad his boat goes in next week.

I think I'm going to keep a low profile today, at work and on line. It couldn't hurt, could it? No hurt feelings, no feeling bad all the way home, no having to wonder.

Previous - Next

Top