Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

The Practice
2002-04-17

Well, half the week is shot. This is a good thing I guess. They crew came down last night and we went out for a practice. One of the other boats came out so we had somebody to play with. it was pretty ragged, but we still kicked their butts. They are not good.

Our finely tuned machine of last year is now missing on several cylinders. On a positive note, Bob did a great job of sail trim and I did a decent job of driving. The rest left a lot to be desired. The new guy Brian is as green as grass, but seems to be fitting in well. He'll learn. Kerry is Kerry, god he has the attentions span of dirt. Maria was on the injured list and spent most of the night being snacktician (handing ut drinks and food). Martin is old (78) but game. He is going to need help and this year I am going to make him take it. He didn't seem tho be too upset by the idea when I proposed it last night. M.E. did pole and has several problems. She was game to keep trying though, she'll get it. Oh well, that is what the Spring Series is about. we still need at least two more bodies though, no experience required. Any takers out there?

After practice we rolled up the jib, had a few drinks and watched the sun go down in spectacular fashion. It was pretty warm too, except in the middle of the bay where the wind off the still 50 degree water chilled things off a bit. After, everyone sat down below for a while and we talked about Figawi, babies and life.

M.E. and I stopped in for one, well I had one, she's been on the wagon with this diet thing she has been on. I should do the same before summer, but I've been on a stress eating rampage. Between the mounting bills and the job, and worrying about a friend who is having not the best of times, {{{hugsK}}} life sometimes gets a little too complicated. One way or another it will all settle out and then I'll be somewhat stress free. Untill then, hide the weiner dogs and small children.

Today looks to be a VERY boring day, and it is going to be so nice out that the day is going to last forever... So if you pop in to read this, leave me a note email, sign my guestbook, anything to distract me please. It will be very appreciated.

Previous - Next

Top