Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Life interrupted
2002-04-01

Happy April Fools day...

Today is kind of messed up. I'm tired, a little down and it's not just because it is Monday. M.E. was on call all weekend and the beeper stayed quiet, well until we hit the bed last night. Her feet weren't even off the floor yet when it went off. She called in, it was bad. She figured she'd be gone for at least three hours if the guy made it up from Emergency alive. I don't sleep when she isn't there. It just doesn't work, and TV wasn't holding my attention so I went on line. Something to take my mind off stuff.

I watched too much MSNBC yesterday. Kids blowing up other kids in the name of religion. What the hell is happening to the world. Where does it stop, youknow?

Well about 45 minutes later the dog goes nuts. M.E. is home already. Even though the whole team was there in less then 15 minutes the guy never had a chance. Cocaine... The drugs they give to counteract the coke are not a good combination with a bad heart. The odds were bad and it played out as expected. His heart died and so did he. 35 years old, man I hope the buzz was worth it. 35 years old and now nothing.... I didn't sleep very well....

I got to go sailing on Saturday. Everybody laughed in the morning when I said I was going. It was pouring rain, but the radar had a window a few hours, it came in perfectly. Except no one but Amanda showed up. Amanda is brandy new so and this would only be my second time out in the new boat, so I figured we were going to have to cancel. I got her introduced to the YC assistant manager and he got her a job application for the summer. Ed liked her and I put in the most glowing of reviews. She is a good kid and will fit in there fine.

As we were heading back down to the boat I hear a yell, it's Martin and Maria. They want to go sailing. Both have been regulars for years. Martin is 78 and I have to be careful not too put too much on him. Maria is his early twenty something daughter who has been sailing with us since she was a kid. She's smart but small. It's kind of thin on the talent side, but what the hell, we take off and have a wonderful afternoon. We were the only boat out there. It was warm, with just enough breeze, perfect.

I almost crashed on the return to the dock. The foward reverse are backwards from what I am used to. I hit what I thought was reverse and gave it some throttle, and we headed at full speed TOWARDS the dock... OOPS I had left enough room to do a bail out, so I did. The second effort was uneventful. M.E. stood on the dock and laughed. Oh well...

The whole family (well the local part) did the Easter dinner thing. The food was good and my sister and her husband came down to the boat after for a cold one. Sis couldn't drink, she is on the drugs that almost killed me. They don't seem to bother her, interesting...

Charlie Brown stopped by too. His wife was suppose to meet him down after taking the troubled one (major anorexia) to the train for the ride back to the school/hospital she stays at in New York. They missed the train, Katie runs on her own schedule. The YC was closed so I'm glad we were around. Charlie has too much time to think.. That never is a good thing.

Previous - Next

Top