Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

What about Bob?
2002-03-28

Good Morning World.... I feel pretty good for some reason today. Maybe it was the good nights sleep. Maybe it was the bright, sunny and uneventful ride in. Maybe it is because idiot sailmaker is finally dropping off the old sails today. Maybe it is none of the above. I don't care, it just feels good for a change.

Well the news from the sailmaker (via email) means a change of plans tonight. I guess we'll need to go down to the boat (not that I need much of an excuse) and put the mainsail and cover on. I need to clean up the white spot on the hull from Mondays fire drill landing too. The forecast for Saturday looks good so I think I'm going to invite everbody out for a sail. Yippie!!!

We took mom out for her birthday dinner last night and everything went well. She was impressed by the boat, the place we took her for dinner (I had an awesome paella) and the company (of course). Hare to believe she is 71. She doesn't look or act it. I hope I make it that far in that good of condition. Hard to believe dad has been dead now for 24 years and Donnie for 26. Those numbers just don't compute in my head. I still see Donnie as a young kid learning to paint. He'd be a middle aged man by now if he had made it. Oh well...

Moms second husband Bob drives like every stereotype old dude you have ever seen, twenty miles and hour, straddling the breakdown lane line with the blinker on and the seatbelt bell ringing persistantly. Kind of scary. Reminds me of a story I heard on the radio of when they sent John Glenn the senator and astronaut back into space on the shuttle at 78 years old or something and this guy says he can picture the shuttle circling the earth at 10 mph with the blinker stuck on. Its a funny mental image.

Well I had better get some work done here.

Later

Previous - Next

Top