Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Dinner for mom
2002-03-27

Its a kind of gray and icky day, inside and outside. Some people I care about haven't written in a while. I hope everything is Ok. Well actually I hope it is more than OK, I hope things are wonderful, but I'd settle for Ok.

I've been mostly slaving along today, playing electronics designer. It is a game I neither like or am wonderfully good at. If I could dump that part of the job it would be better. It's just a numbers juggling game and numbers have always been my arch enemy. Funny for an engineer huh?

Well it's oficial, we are talking mom out to dinner tonight. Some place nice, where she'll complain the prices are too high, but she'll enjoy it. Hopefully her foot will be good enough to show her the boat. If not, she'll have to see it from the parking lot. This will not go over big, but I'm not going to have her limping down several hundred feet of wet docks in a cast...

My mom is a lot like me in many ways. She always eneded up adopting the strays that circulate through our lives. You could stop by moms house right before any meal and there would be enough food to feed you, and any extra army you brought with you. Mom puts up with people, even when they have hurt her, because thats what you are suppose to do. I guess he mostly raised me, and we have been through a lot of the same circles of hell, so I guess it makes sense that we are alike in some ways.

My dad was a natural politician, but he was too honest to suceed there in the long term. he could go to the store to get a loaf of bread and come home three hours later without the bread because he kept running into people he knew. He worked too hard, didn't play enough, and died young. I have some of dad in me too... I try to fight it mostly. Especially the last part...

Previous - Next

Top