Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Who drank all my beer?
2002-03-26

It floats, it really floats! Yeah...

M.E. and I loaded the fridge with $100 of alcohol and enough food to feed Ethiopia. The boat movers were a little late and we were the last move. M.E. brought the video camera and taped everything. She is facinated by the process, and it is pretty cool. They start moving the stands that hold up the boat from the front and back the truck in as the stands come off. There are these big hydraulic arms on the truck that take the place of the stands. Then they back the truck in the water, unhook the trailer and let it slide down the ramp until the boat floats. These guys are good, and the launch went like clockwork.

The usual process if for a work boat to tow you to a slip. We are not usual. I jumped on and tried to start the engine. It started, so 7 of us went for a sail. It was cold and windy and just perfect. I didn't realize how badly I missed being on the water. The boat drove like a dream. Very responsive and light on the helm. We sailed for an hour, had an um.... interesting docking (I'll clean off the white marks from the dock rub rail tonight). Then people started showing up. The highest count I saw all night was 23 people down below at one time. We all fit. I hauled out 4 full trash bags of empties and the fridge is pretty empty. All the food is gone too. I feel like crap this morning so we must have had a good time.

Several people showed up with champagne, Kerry gave us a new ships bell and Becky some serving platters. Pretty cool.

Soooo, today back to the truck repair fiasco. Maybe they will fix it today huh? Maybe I'll become rich and fameous. Why do I think neither is likely...

Previous - Next

Top