Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Bad Memories
2002-03-26

When I was a kid life was pretty simple. You knew all the rules and the consquences of what would happen if you broke them and got caught. When life (or dad) whacked you, it could be directly attributed to some action recently past.

Then you grow up and find that the world isn't fair. You can get whacked for no good reason at all. Just because you were in the wrong place at the wrong time. Even when you do all the right things, try really hard to make things better, things can and do get get worse.

Some of the gang is planning a cruise. Not a sailing thing, but a full cruiseship deal. I guess we are going to go. I went on one once, while I was trying to salvage my first marrige and my sanity. My ex was not so slowly falling apart emotionally and taking me down for the ride. She wanted to go so even though money was tight I said yes. I usually said yes...

I did have a pretty good time. All my family was there. There was a credit card mess up and I had to go into Grand Cayman to find a place to call back home. It was pouring rain, I was going to miss breakfast and lunch. All I asked was for her to call room service and get me a sandwich. Any kind was fine. It takes quite a while, but I fianlly get the problem fixed, splash my way back to the ship, hungry and wet. I can dry off and eat, maybe have a glass of wine, life is good, right?

Not exactly. Instead of room service the ex went in search of a cork screw, drank our two bottles of wine and passed out. The perfect metaphor for all those wasted years. So I took a shower and went to bed. Hungry...

Previous - Next

Top