Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

M.I.A
2002-03-26

Well I caused quite a stir here at work. Seems they had a fire after I left. Nothing major but enough that somebody pulled the fire alarm and the building had to be evacuated. Guess who was missing for head count. Oops. People don't seem too upset and my boss knew I was leaving early, but I did get a mild lecture. Oh well...

It's funny, I'm one of those people who will fight to the death for my friends, but end up letting others walk all over me. It happened again yesterday. This sail loft across the bay has two of the sails for the new boat. I've been calling since January to get them delivered. The guy keeps blowing me off, maybe because I didn't buy new sails from him, maybe because we have sort of a past history, maybe because he is a jerk, maybe all of the above. I see his brother delivering sails. His brother does canvas work and I have asked him to do some for us. A new main sail cover. I need the main on for him to measure for the cover. His brother has the main. Duh..

Well even though they knew I was being launched yesterday, my sails were not on the load that was delivered. So I ask the guy. He plays dumb, but he has this look, like he knows what is going on. He wants me to call his brother. last time I got yelled at for several minutes for not buying his over priced junk. I'm not inclined to call again. Then he says well stop by and pick them up. They have free delivery... I am not going to Bristol to fight with Steve. The brother keeps giving me the run around. Finally I tell him that this whole business has left a bad taste in my mouth and that I might not deal with the company again (meaning him too). He does not seem to take the hint. I ask him if his brother is being a jerk and he answers maybe, then smiles and drives off. Today I called the previous owner and had him call. I doubt they will blow him off, but you never know. BTW the old owner says the boat looks great. It does :-) Once I get a good shot, I'll put it up.

Back to work.

Previous - Next

Top