Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Today is the day....
2002-03-25

Well it is down to hours now. I have to admit, I'm a little bit nervous. I didn't sleep too well last night. All this work and today is the big splash. Will it float? Will everything work?

We had friends over for drinks yesterday afternoon. Well they had drinks, I put on all the finishing touches. Except for one part which is supposed to be in today, it is as ready as I can get it. I hope I don't crack it up getting it to the slip for the first time. It will probably be fine, but I am a worrier. Some of you already know that. If i can worry this much about an inanimate object, then maybe you can understand how much I worry about people I care about.

It snowed on the way in this morning after being near 50 yesterday. The forecast is for more snow tonight, but with a window of maybe 3 or 4 hours with no rain high 40s and maybe even sun. Hopefully it will be nice around 3. That is the scheduled launch time.

M.E. and I are both only working half days today. I'm responsible for beer and wine, she is responsible for food. This means we'll have enough food to feed several third world countries. M.E. is always afraid we'll run out of something so she buys in quantity. Oh well.

I don't think too many people will come out for a sail today, if we can get one in, but I expect tons of people tonight at the launch party. We have chanpagne chilling and the the dock picked out. Now all we need is to get the damn thing from the parking lot into the water safely and then to the slip all tied up pretty.

They use this huge trucks with hydrallic arms to move the boats. Kind of scary to watch, especially when they are putting it in the water. The back half of the truck seperates and seperates and slides down this ramp. A cable holdss the two truck parts together, but nothing holds the boat. Interesting... I'm glad my insurance is paid up.

Previous - Next

Top