Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Depressing...
2002-03-15

I "talked" on line this morning to my friend Patti. She is my oldest on line friend. We met in the sailing forum, back when I had a 286 with the slowest modem in the world. We could make each other laugh both liked Counting Crows and became wonderful friends even though we have never actually met each other. We can go months without talking and then pick up right were we left off.

We seem to have a knack for knowing when the other is hurting and of always showing up at the right time. I always told her she was going to be fameous, I just knew it was going to happen. She was a stay at home mom going through a million different problems with her life or lack of life.

She finally got a job in a book store, suceeded, then went to work at a radio station in the office. She has a beautiful voice, I thought she should be behind the mike. One day everybody was out sick and they put her on. Eventually she had her own show. She is now writing for a newspaper. I'm usually right about that kind of stuff.

Thats all the good news. The bad news is she and Phil, her husband of a zillion years are splitting up. She's grown, he's happy with his life. It is going to be messy. Phil is a great guy. He is smart and funny and a good dad. He married the girl of his dreams. He loves her totally. They have two wonderful kids. sigh.

There is nothing I or anyone can say that is going to make this a better situation. There is going to be hurt. I hate it when friends hurt. I hope Patti s making the right decision. I know it was well thought out, that they have been through counciling and that Phil is trying so hard to keep it together that he is bodering on smothering. From the sounds of things with Patti, the die is cast and she is just waiting for the curtain to fall. It is sad to see something that once was so alive slowly fade into dust.

Previous - Next

Top