Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Paint spots and pains
2002-02-25

Happy? Monday,

Well I guess I'll start with the good stuff, We got tons done this weekend. We put 3 coats of barrier coat on the bottom, and got the floorboards in. M.E. is as excited as a little kid and can't wait for the boat to splash. April 1, YEAH!!! M.E. is also the messiest painter in the world. She got almost as much on her as she did on the boat. She looked so cute covered in white spots, I had to laugh.

Now that bottom is coated white, the boat is much more visable and people have been noticing. All good comments, I finally feel like we are making progress. I also removed the last traces of the old name which has to generate some good karma. We went to bed early every night this weekend. Just bone tired, but a good kind of tired you know? M.E. got what were probably the first blisters in her life. I bought her soft leather gloves so she wouldn't get any more.

So for the downside, well we still have lots ot do and just over four weeks to get there. Lots more late nights ahead. Then there is my physical shape. Yup the headaches are back which means the blood pressure is probably in revolt from the meds. I have a Drs appointment on the 6th and I know what they are going to say, but I don't think I'm ready to quit taking them yet. My left ankle and right knee have been a real pain, and I had to take half a hydrocodone last night to get to sleep. Better living through drugs. Sigh... Oh well, I'll drink a lot of water and walk as much as I can, and hope for the best.

Tonight the plan is to to some smoothing of the keel. An easy job that shouldn't take too long, move the stands holding up the boat so I can put the last bottom coat on and then an easy night at home. I might screw in some of the floor too. There are 17 floorboards and putting them in was like a puzzle with all the pieces having the same picture on them. It only took a few tries to get it right. I've always been good at puzzles.

M.E. cooked last night for the first time in a long time. I usually do all the cooking. She made fresh bread and pork chops and salsa in the crock pot. Yummy... We watched the US/Russia hocky game at the YC and I had two glasses of wine which I shouldn't have had. Boy it would be a shame to finally get the whole boat done and then croak huh? That would be major irony. Well at least it would sell for lots more than we paid.

Ugh my brain is not working well today which is why this is so rambling. BTW I don't plan on croaking any time soon so please do not be concerned. I'm just whining I guess. Somebody has to.

Later

Previous - Next

Top