Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Flying
2002-02-21

Happy Thursday. Only 2 days till the weekend. This is a good thing. I got stuck in a stupid Safety meeting yesturday and couldn't leave until 4:00. That cost me a half an hour of precious daylight, which meant I had to do boat work under the street light and by headlights of the truck. I got done, what I needed to get done though and will finish the prep tonight. The first coat of barrier coat goes on tomorrow. Feels good, real good to be making progress.

M.E. and I were both beat last night and went to bed early. She was asleep by 9:00, while I channel surfed. I was ready to crash too when the phone rings. I hate late phone calls, never good news. It wasn't, one of her friends who I've known for years has stage four bone cancer. Not good. They are going to try a bone marrow transfer, but it is costly and lots of it is not covered by insurance. They are having a fund raiser. It is going to cost $40 a ticket, do we want to go? Well of course we'll buy the tickets, even if we can't go. Kenny and Paula are nice people. They have a sweet little girl. I sure hope it all works out, because he is way too young to die and that is a definate possibility.

I lost a sailing buddy to bone cancer a few years ago. Peter... While he was undergoing chemo he use to come down to the YC to supervise my work on the Express. He always told me to do a good job, because one day he was going to buy her. He died before he got the chance. His boat was sold to nice people who take good care of it. Peter would be happy. I missed his funeral, and was sad. I went out sailing that night solo to raise a toast to my friend. He would have appreciated that more than sitting in a church, I'm sure. The sky that night put on the most incredible color show. Peter saying goodbye? I always thought so, still do. I think of Peter everytime I see his old boat go by. Not a bad thing.

You'd think that with that kind of news before I fell asleep I'd have nightmares or something, but I don't remember dreaming at all. I woke up this morning in a good mood, feeling mostly rested for a change. M.E. told me she dreamed we were sailing and I was driving, she was trimming and the new boat was flying. She was really happy, all smiles. A nice way to start the day. Puppy was happy too, of course he always is. Sometimes he wags his tail so hard you think he could fly.

Most of the people I read haven't been updating much lately. Thank god for Monica and her trip to SF and Dolly and April who are such sweet kids. I miss Robin. Funny how you get into peoples lives here and you feel you know them, and in a way I guess I suppose you do. If you read the stuff here everyday, you probably know more about these people than a lot of their friends and family. In some cases, probably more than they know about themselves. I wonder what people know about me, that I haven't figured out yet? Probably sume, but not too much, I tend to be way self-critical and have analized myself to death. It would be nice to start with a blank page, but you can't go back, so onward. Go forth and conquer.

later

Previous - Next

Top