Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Food for thought?
2002-02-01

It seems all my friends here in the diarys are not having wonderful times lately either. Maybe it is winter, maybe coincidence, maybe we are all suppose to all share the circle of crap. Either way I hope the sun comes out soon, figuratively and literally.

I have to drive through the city tonight to pick up M.E. at the hospital. It is the worse possible place to get to during rush hour. Then I have to wait 20 minutes of so for her to get out. I could just leave later, but as soon as 3:30 comes I am out for the weekend. Don't be standing in front of me because when I'm in this mood, I do not have brakes.

Well probably go down to the YC tonight. Fridays is party night and they serve free sandwiches and soup. we usually don't eat there, we get in later, but maybe tonight. I don't feel like cooking right now. I do all the cooking at home.

I learned to cook as soon as I could see over the counter. Our family had 9 people under the same roof. We usually had different schedules. You either learned to cook or you waited. I never like waiting. I started cooking professionally (well OK Dairy Queen but they did pay me) at 15 and by 18 was working in a full blown restaraunt. I put myself through high school that way and part of college too. I'm not a big recipe kind of guy and I never measure, but it always comes out OK. My mom who is a great cook has been trying to replicate my Thanksgiving stuffing for several years now. I don't have a recipe, I make it different every year and it always comes out the same. She is getting closer, Go mom go.

For New Years we had 28 people over for a full sit down prime rib dinner. It was wonderful and cheaper for me to feed all those folks than to go out to a fancy place for just the two of us.

Why is it when I'm down that I always fixate on food? Food = comfort I guess. I should be happy just for the fact that I am happy enough that I don't weight 300 pounds. Oh well....

Previous - Next

Top