Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Walmart and Tugboats
2002-01-31

The ride in was a bitch this morning. Accidents all over the highway. I left early bacause the forecast said snow, but the roads were dry. Only in New England can the mere forecast of snow cause accidents.

Last night was pretty uneventful. M.E. wanted to check out the new Walmart that opened in one of the malls here. It is the first one ever in a mall. I hate to shop, but I love M.E. M.E. is a power shopper. Look up consumer in the dictonary and there she is smiling with several shopping bags in hand. So off we went. It was a totally wasted effort. First, it was like every other damn Walmart in the world. Second, the service was even slower than normal. We eventually bailed out of the check out line after waiting for 10 minutes while these two girls tried to figure out how to scan in a TV set. UGH What has happend to the educational system in this country. It was the first time that M.E. ever went into a Walmart and didn't buy anything. Ripley had already called and left a message on the machine. This is big!

We went to the YC. I had to drop off some papers to our lawyer. I put M.E. on the deed to the house. It's something I should have done a while back, but it kept getting put aside. She didn't ask, and said she didn't care, but I'm more comfortable now. If anything ever happened to me, it's all hers, free and clear. Well hers and the bank.

Some of the usuals were there. Dennis the idiot, Bob the silent, Tim the tooth man, Doc Len, Moe and Johnny O. I was tellling Johnny O about my paint stripping problem and he asked a simple question that might be the solution to all my problems. He said why do you need to strip off all the paint? I said because the paint I wanted to use causes any other paint to bubble up. He replied, well if the paint stripper isn't making this stuff bubble, what makes you think the paint will? And if it does, use the paint as stripper. Hmm, so simple. It was a litteral light bulb going on moment. I'm going to try a test patch as soon as I get a 40 degree day.

I feel so bad for my friend Robin. She is such a wonderful person, and to see her have so many self doubts just makes me want to cry or hug her or send her a check, something, anything. I wish she could see herself how the rest of the world does. Those damn internal filters. We all have them. Mine are at least as bad as hers. Maybe worse....

You couldn't find a better person in the world to watch tug boat races or dead fish relays with. Don't ask about the last comment, they do weird stuff on the West Coast. Well I guess I should get some work done.

Previous - Next

Top