Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Plan B
2002-01-30

Out damn spot... Or at least damn bottom paint. I came to the conclusion last night that I'm just not going to be able to get this boat bottom stripped on my own. All the best chemicals, scrapers and sanding equipment just aren't touching it. I scraped for an hour last night and got a spot done maybe 2 feet by 1 foot. It would literally take years at that rate. I hate to fail at things. I called about sandblasting, but I have a feeling it is going to be way expensive. So... after an hour and a half of frustration, I ended up with Niel, John and Roger at the Tavern for some liquid inspiration. Thats where I developed plan B.

Plan B is if I can't get afford to have the boat blasted this year, I'll just sand it, fill in the rough spots and paint it with cheap paint, sail if for a year and deal with it next year. (hmm, this may work as a general philosophy in life too). I can do the temporary job fairly cheaply and quickly. It will mean we arent as fast, and that the job will still need to be done, but it does give me a year to recover financially. Not a bad thing I guess. This rationalization was brought to you by Sam Adams Light. The better tasting way to get wasted.

I found out this morning, that my friend Robin was engaged, but is breaking it off. I think she was worried about my reaction to the whole thing. She never mentions "him". He and I had a blow out a while back. He was reading Robins mail and didn't like something I said I guess. He doesn't understand our relationship at all. I guess maybe most people wouldn't. I'm not sure even we do. I just know it's there and I love her very much. When you love people you want them to be happy, and I do want her to be happy, so what ever that takes...

Robin's mom died at 53, my dad at 49. It makes you think about your mortality a lot more than you should have to at this age. She and I have taken different paths, but we are both trying to get to the same place. If anybody has a road map, please let us know. BTW M.E.is also a member of this club. Both her parents died young. She always tells me she is going first. God I hope not. I'm definately don't think I could handle that. Robin, you either. You stay healthy damn it!!!

I really am sorry about the broken engegement though. My feeling is that life is hard enough without having to do it solo. I have a feeling, that if it was really the right thing though, she wouldn't be bailing out. When true love hits you, it is like a sledgehammer. You don't really have a choice. Of course, who am I to listen to. I was in two shit relationships before M.E. Not exactly a relationship expert now am I? I just wish I could make all her worries and pain go away. I guess mine too. When I hit Powerball.... Oh well back to damn reality.

Previous - Next

Top