Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

The daily report... and stuff
2002-01-24

Happy Thursday,

Well, another day without too much to say. I got in 4 miles on the treadmill last night and finished sanding 3 more floor boards. Only 2 more to go. YEAH! The basement is covered in sanding dust. What a mess. I'm going to have to clean all that before I can start varnishing. The electrician finally showed up to finish the job he started in November. Prompt.... And I have a sailing meeting tonight. Things at work are finally getting busy. This is a good thing, I was bored out of my mind there for a while. There, done with the boring update.

A friend on line commented yesterday thatI seem to have a lot of girl friends. (not girlfriends, very MAJOR difference). I guess I do. Maybe it has to do with the fact that I'm usually seen as non-threatening, or that I'm generally supportave. I guess, I just hate to see bad things happen to people and will stand up when I think I have to to stop it. Either that or I just think like a girl.

My friend Kath got married for the second time a while back. Her ex was (is)truely one of the biggest jerks on the planet. He use to leave her alone a lot while he went out an played. When ever she was afraid (often) she'd call me and I'd go over. We'd drink wine and talk until either he came home (rare), she'd calm down (ocasionally) or we'd both drank so much wine that I had to leave and she had to go to bed (the norm). It was kind of nice to have somebody think of you like a safe harbor. Maybe I just like the feeling of trying to make things better, if even just a bit and for a short while. No matter how hard I tried, I couldn't fix the damaged one. I only damaged myself in the process. The work that I've spent doing damage control on me has helped lots. There is spackle in all the holes, and the walls are freshly painted. Clean and shiny. You can't but help wonder though if things got shaken really hard, would it all hold up? Is it more cosmetic than structural? Hell even in my self analysis, I'm Engineer through and through. I guess I just have to trust that I did a good enough job, and take life where as it goes. Thank God for M.E. Now I have a safe place too.

later

Previous - Next

Top