Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Cold Duck and hot boats
2002-01-11

Well Piece of shit rental car day two is now under way. All the interior lights are now dying so I have to use the braille method to turn stuff on and off. If I look really hard I can read the Speedo, but I sort of don't really need it. As soon as I hit 70 the damn things starts to shake, so as long as I keep it in the shake zone, I'm doing fine Oh yeah the drivers window thing is getting worse. I now have gale force winds whipping through the crap pile. I'm glad it is going away today.

Had an OK time at the boat show last night. Ran into a few people I knew. Put my foot in my mouth as usual. A friend was with this guy who builds boats (big company) and she congratulated me on buying my new boat (Closing is today YIPPIE!!!), and she tells him, that maybe I'll buy my next one from him. Without thinking I blurt out, nah, they are too plain looking and way too expensive. Dumb.... My mouth often works before my brain can stop in and I have the knack of saying exactly the wrong thing at the wrong time. If I was saying something bad about you, in private, chances are that you will be in the next booth in the restuarant, or next stall in the mens room, on next person in line behind me at the movies. UGH! Did have a nice dinner at the Union Station Brewery. Couple of Friar amber lagers too yum.

I was thinking about the early days on the ride in this morning. Seems even my first real crush on a girl ended up gaffed up. She was cute, sweet and funny and named Doreen Hunt. We worked at the mall together after school with my best friend Dan the man. Man we had some good times then. I was shy, too shy to ask her out, even though she liked me, so Dan and I hatched a plot. It was before Christmas so we figured a little party was in order. We bought a few bottles of Cold Duck (I had no taste in wine then LOL) and invited Doreen. It was in my car in the parking lot before work. We all got trashed and then had to function cooking. Dan almost got fired and I saved his job. Our plan got a little untracked when Dan (my best friend) started making out with Doreen. They eventually got married, had a kid and divorced. She fixed me up with her best friend who I never really liked. I found out later the only reason she fixed us up was so we could still be near each other. The only reason I went out with friend was so we could be near each other. We always managed to find a way to ditch Dan for a few minutes and she always managed a little make out time when we did. Turns out she did have a thing for me, but Dan the man was my best friend and you don't screw over friends by stealing their gilfriends right? I am such a putz. I don't know where this honor thing came from but it alway has been big in my life. A major pain in the ass. I've always wondered what her life turned out like. I later heard Dan discovered he was gay. I'm not sure how you discover that, but I never got mad at him for screwing up my big plan. I wonder why? I know that if I had had the balls to make the first move that night, that my life would have been very different. Fate? Maybe.... Would it have been better or worse? I'll never know.

So the boat closing is today at noon so I get to leave early. I think a nice lunch with a couple of classes of wine will be appropriate to celebrate. I don't think I'll order Cold Duck. Hope you have a super weekend.

me

Previous - Next

Top