Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

OPs
2005-05-17

I'll fill you in on the job front tomorrow, but tonight we raced. It was a friends new 40 footer. He was frustrated. I can see why. I started as tactician, but trimmed jib most of the time too. Of his crew, I'd take one, Mark. The rest, um, not so good. When you don't know enough to sit on the rail upwind... Um....
I got us a good start, best in the fleet. I though we could fetch the windward mark, they though not, it's not my boat. We overstood by a millino miles. Our big lead was kaput.
They told me the boat we had to beat was a boat they gave 5 seconds a mile to. We kicked his butt, except, it wasn't 5, it was 15 and we lost by 10 seconds. They said it was their best race. I was ready to pull my hair out.
But, the wine was free and I didn't break anything on my boat, and life goes on.
Ron

Previous - Next

Top