Newest��� Archives��� Guestbook��� Email��� Profile��� Dland

Weekend Update
2002-07-15

Message to a friend. I hope you find what you are looking for in life. I really do.

Now back to the regularly scheduled portion of our entry.

Blackbird singing in the dead of night. Thae your broken wings and fly...

Dispite some definate down notes I had a pretty good weekend. I decided not to let life get me down, Chucked the depressing music and pumped in some Crows. Good choice. I felt immediately better and decided that there was no use in worrying over things i had no control over. Good advice.

We got the steering fixed Friday night and it is better than new. The new cables are one size bigger and all the fittings are now new and upgraded. It drives just fine :-) Then went home and had drinks and dinner on the deck and watched the sun go down. I was in bed relitively early every day and actually feel OK this morning.

Saturday was a busy day. We went visit my mom who is supposed to come home Wednesday. God, please don't ever put me in a nursing home. Shoot me first. Thanks... The we got the boat scrubbed all clean and shiny, cleaned ourselves clean and shiny and headed out in quest of, well stuff.

We hit the marine consignment shops in Wickford and Newport looking for a new anchor and other deals. We also have a few things to sell so I wanted to see what the deal was. Typical split on consignement is 60 - 40 but you can bargain on bigger items. OK that works. I found an anchor I might get when the budget permits. 35 pound plow for $155. Not a bad deal. Then we ate at a nice Italian place in Newport. Yum.

Later we went to the Newport Yacht Club to wait for Niel and the rest of thr racers to come in from the Rolex Regatta. They came back beat to hell. I'm sorry I missed it ;-) While we were there I found out that a friend, Skip Babcock was missing and presumed dead. They found his boat, under auto pilot and with the main up, but with no Skip.... Sigh, so sad... Also so stupid. How do you not clip in when sailing solo off shore. Skip, you knew better damn it.

Neil and Mary wanted us to go to the New york Yacht Club where the party was. Well New York YC is in the biggest mansion on Newport harbor and M.E. has been dying to get inside, so we went. The place is magnificent, all marble and dark wood and fireplaces every where. The view from their patio is unbelievable. The initiation fee is $18,000 so the only way we'll ever be there is as a guest, but it was nice to pretend. After staying for a couple of hours and watching the sun go down, we headed back to Newport for one more drink and headed home.

Sunday was spectacular. We had friends out sailing and the weather was perfect. I let everybody who wanted to drive, found out that Meg is pregnant (a good thing) and had a nice time. Diana, who I wrote about last November when her husband died, came along and it was nice to see her smiling again. Ellen, whos husband just left her recently seemed to have a good time too. Turning frowns into smiles, thats us :-)

Previous - Next

Top